Creative photos and essays from the San Juan Islands

Image

Custom made hammer dulcimer

Custom made hammer dulcimer

Made in Alaska, this cedar hammer dulcimer (sometimes referred to as hammered) was taken in trade for some printing I did when I had my commercial print shop. I had dreams of learning how to play in, and hopes of getting into that back-to-the-land groove that so appealed to me.

As Thoreau said about the materials gathered in one’s youth to build a castle in the sky (where dreams belong) I ultimately sold this to a hippie on Orcas Island. Hopefully he was able to tune it and find some hammers to play it.

Leave a Reply

