Creative photos and essays from the San Juan Islands

Image

Peddle Kayak

Peddle Kayak

I had seen these online and was impressed by the flipper propulsion system, so I bought one. Loved the peddle power and when combined with paddling, the boat could really scoot!

However, the fly in the ointment was the sit-on-top style of boat. I found it difficult to get on and off because of the top-heavy nature of the hull. I sold it at a loss and now have a common sit-inside kayak which is easy to get in and out of. The new kayak also has dry storage behind the cockpit, and a spray skirt. Yes, it’s paddle only, but that’s ok, for on occasion I have trouble with my left knee, so using my upper body strength is no problem, and often preferred.

My current arrangement is so easy, I’m surprised I didn’t think of it before. I rent an inexpensive rack position at the Port of Friday Harbor where I can store the kayak upside down so no rain water gets inside, and I can lock it to the rack, so thieves are not a concern. I also have a dock box, the only one on the dinghy dock, where I can store my life jacket, paddle, wheels, water jug to wash the boat after use, and my jacket if it’s too warm to wear it while out on the water.

Short excursions are easy and efficient. I can bomb over to Turn Island in a half hour, walk around for the ambiance, then paddle back, getting a good workout, as well as a peaceful island experience. Life is good!

SAM_1505

Leave a Reply

