Creative photos and essays from the San Juan Islands

Image

Astoria Memories

Astoria Memories

This photo was taken nine years ago. I doubt this sign is still there, but who knows, stranger things have happened. The sign, which I made while attending Clatsop for my first college degree, was 35 years old when this was taken in 2004, and was showing its age even then.

As I mentioned a few posts ago, I’ve made quite a few routed wooden signs, this one being the largest. I routed the sign in an unused upstairs office to the left of the photo, and even built the mounts and the stone pillars, though I can’t recall where the stones came from. That’s the selective memory that frustrates me often.

Leave a Reply

