Creative photos and essays from the San Juan Islands

Image

Springtime

Springtime

These pop out ever year from an uphill lot along Pear Point Rd, and are a sight for sore winter eyes, along with a row of California poppies at the bottom of the bank, all of them shouting “Land on me, bee, land on me!!!” P1000877

Further to the east the old gravel pit is ablaze with dots of orange as the poppies there have burst out in riotous color, seeming fields of them. And the Scotch broom is calling the poppies “Johnny-come-lately” for they’ve been telling their bright yellow story for a couple weeks at least.

I like taking the ladies from the Village on a van ride each Saturday, for we all get a chance to catch up on the latest flower arrival, and which have done their duty and are fading away. P1000879P1000857

2 responses

  1. lorimac242012

    Absolutely gorgeous photos. The close-up of the poppy looks like a painting by Georgia O’Keefe.

    June 1, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    • Thank you! I was passing this area (where Dennis and I walk) in the Village van ride and noticed the profusion of poppies, so afterward I rode my bicycle down there to shoot some shots.

      Oh, before I forget to mention it, Dennis sent me an excerpt about the “Kirsten, Norm and family” adventure which, as a devoted arm-chair traveler, I thoroughly enjoyed! Tell him thanks for me.

      Jim

      June 2, 2013 at 10:16 am

Leave a Reply

