Creative photos and essays from the San Juan Islands

Image

The lick of love

The lick of love

While on an exploratory bike ride on the American Camp Trail alongside the airport, I stopped to visit Jan at the Animal Shelter which sits on Port of Friday Harbor property to the southwest of the air strip.

She had three small dogs keeping her company in the office entryway announcing my entry with much barking (too much in my view, that’s why I prefer cats) and a nip or three from the bravest of the bunch (and the smallest!)

The pups settled down, and this one on Jan’s lap decided a face wash was in order with its rendition of “The Lick (Look) of Love” song. Learning there were few cats available (I’m thinking, I’m thinking) I continued my bike ride.

Leave a Reply

